Brazil has won 5 Soccer World Cups

Brazil is known as the country of soccer. That’s why they are so proud to have 5 World Cups! Moreover, all these tournaments took place in Brazil! Let’s learn more about the history of the Soccer World Cup and all the facts you need to know about it. The FIFA World Cup is the biggest international soccer tournament in the world. It is organized once every four years by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). It is a qualifying competition for all national teams around the globe. In this article, we will explore everything there is to know about this amazing event from its history, its location, and its past winners. So keep reading and get yourself informed about The Soccer World Cup

Who is Fédération Internationale de Football Association?

FIFA is an international governing body for the sport of football, which is more commonly known as soccer. It was founded in 1904 and has its headquarters in Zurich. It has 211 member nations and controls the rules of the game, the regulations of the World Cup, and other elite competitions. It also organizes other major international tournaments, including the Women’s World Cup. The organization has been beset by scandals over the years. FIFA earned negative headlines for several years over allegations of corruption and mismanagement. A large-scale investigation in 2015 resulted in dozens of arrests and the replacement of several top FIFA officials. FIFA is controlled by the continental confederations of the sport, the most prominent of which are UEFA (Europe), CAF (Africa), and AFC (Asia). The president of FIFA is elected to a four-year term by the members of the organization at the FIFA Congress.

World Cup History

The "Brazilian Miracle" marked the first World Cup win not held in Europe, when the country hosted, in 1950. Brazil is the only nation to have hosted the tournament twice, having been selected in 1946 but not being able to host the event due to a combination of factors including a lack of stadiums, economic instability, and nascent social and political issues in the country. The tournament was also not held in the years of World War II. Brazil won its second World Cup in 1962, beating Czechoslovakia 3-1 in the final, and became the first team to defend its title in 1962, when it defeated West Germany 3-2. England, which hosted the tournament in 1966, became the first host to win the World Cup, beating West Germany 4-2 in the final. The tournament was held in Germany in 1974 and 1978 and in Spain in 1982.

The Host Country Requirements

The host country is chosen by the FIFA Executive Committee, and the tournament is awarded at least two years before it is held. The decision is based on many factors, including the state of the country's infrastructure, financial aspects, and general suitability. A country can only host the World Cup once in the competition's history. The country must have an 80,000-capacity stadium for the final, and the tournament requires a minimum of 12 stadiums with at least 40,000 seats. The host nation must also provide a list of training sites and hotels for visiting teams, which must meet certain standards. The host country must also agree to provide free travel to all FIFA officials and members of the media, along with providing general information on travel and security, visa regulations, and necessary vaccinations. FIFA's Executive Committee and the LOC may select one or more host cities outside the Staging Group.

The stadiums and the infrastructure

All stadiums used in the tournament must meet certain requirements. For example, they must have an artificial surface, at least 40,000 seats, and appropriate infrastructure, including media facilities, training sites, and hotels. Twelve stadiums will host the World Cup in 2026, including three in the United States, two each in Mexico and Canada, and one each in Brazil, Honduras, Costa Rica, and Morocco. The National Football Stadium in the country's capital will host the final of the tournament.

Previous World Cups in Brazil

Brazil won the first three World Cups, hosted the tournament in 1950, 1954, and 1958, and was the first country to host a World Cup for the fourth time in 1950. Brazil was selected as the host of the 2014 World Cup after FIFA's executive committee voted in favor of the South American country in a decision that was widely expected. After Brazil's original bid failed in 2004 to host the tournament, the South American country was determined to be the host in 2014.


The Brazilian miracle marked the first World Cup win not held in Europe when the country hosted in 1950. It also became the first country to host the tournament for the fourth time in 2014. With a total of 5 World Cups, Brazil is the proud owner of this record. The soccer World Cup will return to Brazil in 2026. This will be the first time the tournament has been hosted in South America since the construction of stadiums and other infrastructure has improved significantly since the World Cups in 1950, 1954, and 1958. The stadiums and infrastructure, as well as the country's sports culture, make Brazil the perfect host for the 2026 FIFA World Cup.