Spain won the 2010 Football World Cup

Spain’s victory in the 2010 World Cup is a historic moment for the country and its football team. Spain has been one of the strongest teams in Europe over recent years but has never won the Football World Cup until now. In this article, we look at why Spain won.

Why Spain won the 2010 Football World Cup

There are many reasons why Spain won the 2010 Football World Cup. Firstly, many will say that the ‘Balon d'Or (Golden Ball) award for best player in the tournament was a foregone conclusion. However, the award went to Spanish midfielder Andres Iniesta, widely considered to be the best player in the world at the time. So there were high expectations for the Spanish team, but they surpassed them. Secondly, the Spanish team had a strong formation – with a strong goalkeeper, center-backs, defensive midfielder, two full-backs, a strong midfield, and three attacking midfielders. The team was balanced and they also had a good mix of skill and experience. Thirdly, Spain and their style of ‘possession football’ or ‘tiki-taka’ which they have become famous for in recent years, was the key to their win. Finally, there have been many strong teams that failed to win the World Cup over the years, so Spain’s victory is historic.

The Spanish formation

The formation used by the Spanish team during the period leading up to the 2010 Football World Cup was very different from the one used to win the tournament. In the latter stages of the tournament, the Spanish team shifted from their usual 4-3-3 formation to a variant of the 4-6-0 or ‘false 9’ system. The ‘false 9’ formation looks like a 4-6-0 but with the forward positioned deeper than usual. The 4-3-3 formation consists of 4 defenders, 3 midfielders, and 3 forwards. The 4-6-0 formation also consists of 4 defenders, 6 midfielders, and 0 forwards. In other words, there is no ‘false 9’ system.

Spain and tiki-taka – possession football

As mentioned above, Spain’s style of ‘possession football’ or ‘tiki-taka’ was the key to their win. They became famous for this style of play and their ‘tiki-taka’ football is seen as a way of controlling games and winning matches. This style is based on keeping the ball and ‘passing’ the other team to shape or ‘kill’ the game. The idea is to keep possession as much as possible, thus controlling the pace of the game and moving towards the opponent’s goal. Tiki-taka is a high-risk, high-reward brand of football, as it can quickly turn into a boring, slow-moving match that neither team appears to want to win.

Other factors that contributed to Spain’s win

Strong team formation: as discussed above, the team had a strong formation that was balanced and included experienced players who knew each other well. - Strong goalkeeper: the Spanish goalkeeper Iker Casillas, who won the Golden Glove award for the best goalkeeper at the World Cup, was strong and organized his defenders well.

Strong midfield: the Spanish midfield included Xavi who was arguably the best player in the world at the time and Iniesta.

Strong full-backs: the full-backs played an important role in providing extra width to the team.

Strong forward: the forward was strong, including strikers like Fernando Torres and David Villa.

The strong mentality of the players: the Spanish players had a strong mentality. They were able to overcome and manage pressure effectively, and they were mentally fit to win the World Cup.

Who Are The Spanish Footballers?

There are a few Spanish footballers who won the 2010 Football World Cup for Spain with their amazing skills on the pitch. The five footballers are Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta, Sergio Ramos, Carles Puyol and Fernando Torres.

Xavi Hernandez - Xavi is the captain of FC Barcelona, and he is Spain’s midfield general. He was born on 25 April 1980 in Santpedor, Spain, and has been a Spanish international since 2004. Xavi is universally regarded as one of the best players of all time. Xavi scored two goals in the 2010 Football World Cup for Spain against Honduras and Paraguay. He also assisted a goal for Torres against Brazil in the semi-finals.


The 2010 Football World Cup was Spain’s breakthrough tournament. They had always been a team with great promise, but they had never managed to fulfill that promise. In 2010, everything came together at exactly the right time.

This Spanish team was the best in the world at the time and had players who were all at their peak. Their passing was masterful, their movement off the ball was excellent and their finishing was ruthless.

Spain won the tournament in style and with a brand of football that will be remembered for generations to come. It was the perfect way to end an era of great Spanish teams and begin a new one.